To Boldly [Le]Go Where No Fan Has Gone Before

“You must be either an obsessive crackpot who’s escaped from his keeper, or Samuel T. Cogley, Attorney at Law!” .  That line, spoken by the character of James Kirk in the original Star Trek TV series episode Court Martial, has always given me a laugh.  I think it would be just as accurate to replace the “Samuel T Cogley” part with, “Chris Collins, adult fan of Lego and Star Trek fanatic”.

Sometimes I do think others perceive me as an obsessive crackpot but it’s OK.  I’m perfectly happy to have that reputation.  In fact, there are times I go out of my way to live up to it.  One such time occurred recently when my family had to give up their dining room table for the entire winter while I constructed a scale model of the ST:TOS Enterprise bridge out of …

Wait for it …

LEGO!

TOS Enterprise bridge made from Lego

Looking back on the project, I realize there are a hundred things I could have done to make it better. That’s the obsessive crackpot in me really coming out though.  Ultimately, it was a very satisfying undertaking and one that I would like to tackle again someday, albeit with a little more advance planning.  This one I threw together hodge-podge just to see if I could improve on a similar Lego project I had attempted as a kid.  There was a marked improvement; so much so that I created a profile at MOCPages.com where I have uploaded the only existing photos of my Lego bridge from childhood as well as a whole series of shots taken while I built the new one.

To me, this is one of the great appeals of Star Trek.  I know that I am only one of many millions of people who feel bolstered by Star Trek, its characters, and its stories.  Granted, others have made major changes in their lives because of inspiration derived from Trek, while anything I have achieved as a result of my fandom is much less profound.  All the same, I like to think that the “you can do anything you set your mind to” approach is something that was brought out in me, at least partially, by Star Trek.  I am not particularly athletic.  While I am intelligent, I am no rocket scientist.  I am at least somewhat creative though, and my love for all things Star Trek has given me numerous outlets for that creativity – to say nothing about the fomentation of that part of my personality, which sprang up quite unexpectedly while I was a youngster obsessed with Star Trek

2 thoughts on “To Boldly [Le]Go Where No Fan Has Gone Before

    • Thank you Carol! Funny you should mention cell phones – I just downloaded the TOS communicator app for my Droid phone. Yes, it’s official – I am a middle-aged geek! Ha ha!!

      Be well and, as always, thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

