It’s finally going to happen . . .

Yes, that’s right. After years of ambivalence (for what reason I cannot say) I am finally going to make the time to sit down and purposely watch an episode or two of Doctor Who. It’s not that I have anything against the idea, or the series itself. Nothing could be further from the truth. I simply haven’t found any compelling reason to watch it until recently.

A few months ago, my 15 year old son discovered that recent episodes of the program are available to view on Netflix. He’s already a discerning fan of Sci-Fi and fantasy, having developed a love for Star Trek, Star Wars, the Lord of the Rings trilogy, and more. So, when he began watching the Doctor Who series and became immediately enthralled by it, I took notice. This weekend he decided that he wanted share his new found enjoyment with the old man if I’d be willing to partake of an episode or two. And that folks is all the initiative I need.

I realize that these pages have been devoted primarily to Star Trek. However, anyone who has read my entries thoroughly knows that the underlying themes are of much greater importance. One such theme, on which I have continually touched, is the nurturing of the relationship with my boy through our shared love of Sci-Fi. Given that, I am not only enthusiastic about spending the time with him checking out the behemoth of Brit Sci-Fi, but just as enthused by the idea of writing about it here.

More news to follow after the episodes.

Leave a Reply

